Robert Townsend

01Feb13

I was blown away when I saw these incredible paintings by Robert Townsend. Yes, all are paintings using either watercolor or oil. They depict nostalgic situations and minutiae of mid-century life of American, with a nod to California in particular since Townsend is a native of the state. See and learn more here.       pb

From the artist…

“More than anything, I think my work is about vernacular culture. It is concerned with ordinary domestic and functional objects or themes….I seem to be concerned with expressing a generally American and specifically Southern California voice. As for the Californian – the elements are the weather, car culture, surf culture, and the general lack of historical reference.”

Robert Townsend
April, 2011

robert-townsend-stabl-flo-l

Spotted on The Jealous Curator

One Response to “Robert Townsend”

  1. Those are great! Mid-century is so interesting to me, especially since I remember it! I love that motel painting, we stayed at places like that when I was little.


Leave a Comment

